What is ANCAP?

ANCAP is the Australian New Car Assessment Program and has been scientifically crash-testing vehicles since 1993.

ANCAP awards star ratings that indicate the level of safety a vehicle provides in the event of an accident, based on ANCAP's rating methodology. The data from these crashes is then analysed, and new vehicles are awarded a star rating from 1 to 5.

The higher the ANCAP star rating the better the vehicle performed in the tests.

To achieve an ANCAP 5-star rating, a vehicle must achieve the highest international recognised standards in all test categories.

Results are updated and released annually.

RAC helps to fund ANCAP. 

ANCAP releases video and photos of their tests, like the one below of a BMW 5 Series.


More FAQs about:

More FAQs